Team India For Chess Olympiad 2022. How India Is Fielding 6 Teams At The 2022 Chess Olympiad, While The Maximum Limit For Other Countries Is Two Teams?

The 2022 Chess Olympiad will kick-start on 28th July 2022 (today) in the Chennai-Mahabalipuram with a never seen before opening ceremony. 2000 players & teams from more than 180 countries from across the globe have already reached the venue when i am typing this content. Almost all the players have already registered their happiness on the arrangements made for the tournament including pick-up from the airports. Sincere thanks to the state & central government of India for the same.


Over the board (OTB) Chess Olympiad happened last time in 2018. The Chess Olympiad is conducted once every 2 years. Due to Covid-19 pandemic, FIDE held an Online Chess Olympiad in 2020 and 2021, with a rapid time control that affected players’ online ratings. For 2022 Chess Olympiad, India will be seen hosting it for the first time in the history. The All India Chess Federation (AICF) along with FIDE also hosted a torch relay across the country for the first time in history.


India will be seen fielding a total of 6 teams at the 2022 Chess Olympiad, while the maximum limit for countries are two teams - 1 team in the open and 1 team in the women's category. Why? As-per the rules of FIDE, the host nation for the Chess Olympiad can field two teams in each in both open and women's section, i.e, 2 teams in the open and 2 teams in the women’s category. With the Olympiad being hosted in Chennai, India is entitled to have 4 teams in the event.


But, where does the fifth & sixth team come into the picture?

Since the total number of teams registered to compete in the both open and women's section were odd, FIDE awarded the hosts India with one more slot in each category to even things out. Thus, India is allowed to field 6 teams in the 2022 Chess Olympiad, i.e, 3 teams in the open & 3 teams in the women’s category 


This is how the 6 Indian teams will line up for the Olympiad.


Open Section


Team A: Vidit Gujrathi, Pentala Harikrishna, Arjun Erigiasi, SL Narayanan, Kiran Sasikiran


Team B: B Adhiban, R Praggnanandhha, Nihal Sarin, D Gukesh, Raunak Sadhwani


Team C: Surya Sekhar Ganguly, Karthikeyan Murali, SP Sethuraman, Abhijeet Gupta, Abhimanyu Puranik


Women's Section


Team A:  Koneru Humpy, Harika Dronavalli, R Vaishali, Tania Sachdev, Bhakti Kulkarni


Team B: Vantika Agarwal, Sowmya Swaminathan, Mary Ann Gomes, Padmini Rout, Divya Deshmukh